Week 86 – purple

Reindeer still loves reading and, as he’s getting older, the range of books is increasing. The artwork in the new books is also becoming of interest. 

In particular he’s fascinated by The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle and I’m The Best by Lucy Cousins. In each book there is a title page containing lots of colour spots. 

A couple of weeks ago, each time he chose The Very Hungry Caterpillar, he would begin on the title page and point to each purple colour spot on the page, asking me to say ‘purple’ at the same time. There are lots of colour spots on the page – lots of different colours – so I was quite intrigued and impressed when he always chose the same colour. 

Around the same time he began going to the colour spot page in I’m The Best. There are fewer spots and fewer colours, but he will always choose the yellow spots first for naming, then brown, blue and green. 

It’s fascinating to see him pick something specific from all of the visual information presented. If I can’t see the colour he’s pointing at clearly, and then name it incorrectly, he’ll keep prompting me until I name the colour correctly. From this and his ability to choose the correct toy based on make and colour, I’d guess he knows about 10-12 colours now. 

I don’t know why, but this surprises me. Most likely this is because I have no idea which order and how quickly children develop. It’s great fun to watch though and I’m curious to see what takes his interest next. 

Leave a Reply

