Week 62 – poorly

Reindeer had a tough week last week. He’d been fighting off a cough for about a month when he woke up on Monday morning with a high temperature and quite distressed. 

Deciding to err on the side of caution we went straight to see our GP. As the cough was viral there was no point in giving antibiotics. Just before we left the GP had a quick look in a screaming Reindeer’s ears. There was clearly an infection and antibiotics were prescribed. I wasn’t thrilled as antibiotics should be used sparingly, but I didn’t want the infection to worsen. 

From Monday morning to Thursday lunchtime, Reindeer spent most of his waking hours – and many of his sleeping ones – lying in my arms, feeling rotten and not knowing what to do about it. He developed a really sad cry and would alternate between pushing me away and snuggling in. It was horrible to see him poorly and I desperately wished I could wave a magic wand to make him well again. 

Medicine unfortunately became a thing during the week – he hated taking any of it. After many battles and subterfuges (think mixing medicine with fruit pot, yoghurt, ice cream,  anything he might eat!) my husband figured out that using the laser thermometer to distract him would give me a few moments when he’d take get medicine without getting upset. It’s tricky but necessary. Of course, there are also the amoxicillin nappies to contend with, but I can’t bear to think about those just now.

On Thursday afternoon Reindeer started to get a little better – this was great timing as it was his dad’s birthday and so we were able to go out for tea.

Although he recovered over the weekend, I’m still a bit worried about him. He seems pale, has dark circles under his eyes, is often tired and has a variable appetite. He also just isn’t quite himself. I don’t know if that’s because he’s still getting over being poorly or if I’m just being over-anxious. 

He slept for 13.5 hours last night which suggests he’s still healing. I’ve requested a call back from the health visitors in case there’s something developmental going on that I’m not aware of. Hopefully he’ll have another good sleep tonight and wake up feeling much better tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

