Week 61 – stairs 

For the last few weeks I’ve been encouraging Reindeer to climb the stairs himself. The idea is that he practices under supervision and then, should we ever get caught out and he finds himself alone on stairs, at least he stands a chance of getting up them safely.

Earlier this week I noticed he’s developed a ritual to go with climbing the stairs. If I say ‘are you ready to go upstairs?’ or open the stairgate, he’ll go over to it, look at me, then walk around the lounge choosing a vehicle to take upstairs with him. Only once he’s chosen a vehicle will be attempt the stairs. 

On the one occasion the gate was opened before I was ready, he still chose a car and waited on the bottom step until I reached him before climbing further.

I love these little routines he picks up. I have no idea why he does this or how it started, but he seems happy enough. I, on the other hand, would love to know what’s going on in his head!

Leave a Reply

