Week 52 – dedication

Today was Reindeer’s dedication at the church I attended as a child. Despite being rather short-notice, we were amazed to have more than 25 family members travel across to spend the day with us. 

We’ve had a wonderful day; the service was lovely and being able to share it with family and friends who’ve been with me throughout my life was very special.

The rest of the day was spent with family, enjoying a fabulous lunch, and then catching up with family into the evening.

It hasn’t been entirely plain sailing today. Unable to settle for a long nap, Reindeer struggled a little through the afternoon, wanting cuddles and time away from all the unfamiliar people. This was a bit tricky for us as we wanted to make sure he was as happy and comfortable as possible, whilst also managing to eat lunch and say hello to everyone! By the time we returned to my parents house I had a splitting headache and aching arm, but it didn’t seem to matter. 

After a nap, Reindeer returned to full strength and spent the rest of the day exploring the garden, playing with his toys, attempting to stand on the walker and dodging polystyrene gliders. If I could ask him his greatest triumph today, I suspect the answer would be getting a handful of his cousin’s chocolate cake!

I’d originally planned to bake Reindeer a birthday cake tonight but, given the copious quantities of cake currently available, I’m worried it would be wasted. I may settle for making him his very favourite dinner on his birthday instead.

The closer we get to his birthday, the more I struggle to comprehend where this year has gone. How is it possible to fit so much into such a short space of time? I suspect I’ll be rather emotional on his birthday…

Leave a Reply

