Week 42 – give and take

For a little while now I’ve been watching Reindeer for signs that he’s ready to deliberately hand items to other people, and understand people giving items to him. I’ve made a point of saying ‘please’ and ‘thank you’ when we’ve been playing, or if I’ve needed to take items away from him.

Today, I was sorting out the kitchen after lunch and Reindeer was playing on the floor nearby. He’d taken a magnet off the fridge door and was examining it closely. After a minute he looked me in the eye and deliberately held out the magnet to give me. Since it was the first time he’d done this I was very excited!

He handed me the magnet, I thanked him and then offered it back.

A couple of minutes later the same thing happened again. Even more excitement for me as I realised the first time wasn’t a fluke.

The third time was a little different. He offered me the magnet, I moved to take it, and just before I reached it he pulled it away from me and laughed. I was completely taken aback. In just three attempts he’d moved from learning give and take transactions to making a joke of them – I’m actually surprised but proud of him.

This isn’t the first time he’s made up a small interactive game which involves doing the unexpected to create amusement for the other person; if I’m getting clothes from under his cot he’ll stand up and try to reach my hair when I’m not looking. He wants me to look up before he reaches my hair as being caught out makes him laugh.

Tomorrow should be fun!

2 thoughts on “Week 42 – give and take

Leave a Reply

