Week 40 – consequences

We buy nappies by the box in our house because there’s a better chance that we won’t run out at an inopportune moment. The theory is that a bigger box will look empty for a few days before there are no nappies left, so there should be time for me to (a) notice this and (b) do something about it.

This morning, I let Reindeer play with one of the empty nappy cardboard boxes. It is pretty big for him to grapple with but he was really fascinated so I thought I’d let him have a play to see how he coped.

He was totally engrossed with it; lifting it, pushing and pulling it, looking into and through it. On a few occasions as he was manhandling it, I noticed that he’d pull an unusual face. He would close his eyes and screw his features up. It took me a minute to realise that he was bracing himself for the box to land on him because he didn’t feel in control of it.

It impressed me a lot because it was evidence that his thought processes and memory have developed another stage. He’s moved from random actions, e.g., moving his arm (is that my arm?) or patting with his hand (is it hard or soft?), to a thought process along the lines of:

1. I want to grab the box with my hand and lift it really high
2. I can remember lifting my bunny really high but I lost my grip and it dropped on my face
3. I feel like I’m losing my grip on this box
4. It might hit my face and I don’t like how that feels so I’ll brace myself

He has developed enough experience and memory to understand, albeit on a basic level, that actions have consequences. Not only that, but he’s developed a little further into the realms of and I can adapt my actions to deal with it. To me this feels like a very big step, although a step which is less obvious than standing or crawling.

Getting to watch Reindeer develop like this is just fascinating, I can’t believe I ever thought child development was dull!

4 thoughts on “Week 40 – consequences

    1. What a lovely video! There’s just something so special about sharing each little milestone with them ☺ I think I didn’t realise this before because we don’t live close enough to our nephews to have seen them develop daily, each visit would be months apart so I wasn’t aware of all the little steps it took to make the difference!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s true – and what’s even more fascinating, I think, is that every kid is different in how they manifest the little sub-products that go into each milestone. My first was a very fast walker, and her learning to walk involved just a few baby step sessions with us, and then, one day, she was standing up, holding onto a chair, let go, and spent the next 30 minutes walking around the house. It was totally binary – like a switch. No gradient.

        My son, my 2nd, was more cautious, but was exploring his stability bit-by-bit mostly because he had a 17-month older sister who would blithely run into him while he was figuring out how to walk. It was less “coordination” and more caution.

        My third (the one in the video) is the tallest of the three, and she’s been crawling since 5 months old, but has been just simply too tall and lanky to be stable enough to walk. So, we’ve been watching her get muscularly more stable over the last month or so to where she’s almost got it.

        But as a tl;dr, it comes back to my first comment – they’re all fascinating in their own ways.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. ☺ three very different scenarios there! I feel for your son – it must’ve been quite tough to find his feet with an excited older sister wanting to play. I veer between thinking it is harder for the eldest child, as they bear the brunt of your inexperience, and harder for subsequent children as they have to share you from day one, as well as dealing with a sibling who wants them to catch up but not overshadow them!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

