Week 35 – breastfeeding

There’s an old saying that you don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone. Today I discovered that is true about breastfeeding.

Reindeer is on a nursing strike, probably because of teething. I didn’t realise such a thing was possible, so that surprise has made today doubly challenging. On top of the lack of sleep.

He finally took a feed late this afternoon, 22-hours after his last one, but refused his usual bedtime feed.

Apart from all the concerns about dehydration and possible illness, I’ve actually really missed being able to feed him. Initially I thought feeding would be a functional thing, but it hasn’t turned out that way. Instead, it turns out, that I actually love breastfeeding. I’ve got from resenting being tied to a chair for most of the day and night to feeling really sad that we haven’t had that time together today. That when we’ve tried to feed he’s cried and turned away. When he actually fed this afternoon I felt so happy and relieved, seven months ago I wouldn’t have believed it possible.

I’m desperately hoping that he will return to feeding normally overnight, both for the sake of his health as well as for my nerves.

Leave a Reply

