Week 32 – drinking

One of the biggest barriers to leaving Reindeer with his Dad while I run errands is drinking. He’s been exclusively breastfed since birth and, because I developed a fear of expressing, he’s never had a bottle.

Until now I hadn’t really thought too much about this, but going into work last week I realised we’re going to be in trouble if I don’t get something sorted soon.

Over the last couple of weeks I’ve been giving Reindeer a sippy cup to play with and, while he’s enjoyed banging it to make the water splash, he hasn’t been able to drink out of it. Yesterday, I decided to try holding a normal cup of water to his lips to see what he did. Firstly, he held the cup with me and pulled it towards his lips. Then he started drinking it. He inhaled some initially but then gestured for the cup to try again. This time he managed a few careful swallows. We tried again this morning and he was still interested!

This is a huge step forward and I was really proud of him as he coped so well. Hopefully, over the next few weeks, we can work on this skill both from a motor skills point of view but also so that he’s a little more independent of me.

Leave a Reply

