Week 30 – he bit me

Although Reindeer is now seven-months-old I’m continuing to breastfeed until he is weaned. This decision is based on two things:

1. The advice that the longer you can breastfeed for the better
2. Breastfeeding is too convenient for me to want to begin the faff that is bottle feeding

Last month Reindeer cut his first two teeth and tonight the inevitable happened: he bit me during a feed. It wasn’t an accidental nip, there have been a couple of those, but an actual bite in the manner of using a teether. It was surprising and painful.

He doesn’t understand that this isn’t what you do and all I could do was pull away. I’m hoping this will be enough and it won’t happen again because I really don’t want to have to give up breastfeeding now we’ve come this far!

On the plus side he was happy to have his teeth brushed properly with toothpaste for the first time tonight. We’ve had a good day though and I managed to take a lovely photo of him trying to eat his cot the evening.

Leave a Reply

