Week 29 – clingy

During the last few days, Reindeer has become increasingly clingy. He wants to be in view of us or, better still, be held at all times. When I put him in his cot so I can go to the toilet, he begins to cry. This is really unusual behaviour. Until now I’d be surprised if I heard him cry three times in a week. It isn’t a full on cry either; as soon as he’s cuddled it stops immediately.

I’m assuming there is some developmental explanation for what’s happening, but I haven’t looked it up yet. Almost certainly the teething (he attempted to eat a table at lunchtime) and his determination not to sleep during the day are also playing a part.

On the plus side, thanks to the birthday kindness of family, I now have a wrap! It is beautiful, covered in bright stripes, and I love it. I’ve used it a lot already and was relieved to be able to use it during the weekly shop (baby seats are only fitted to the big trollies and they are too deep to easily retrieve your items at the checkout unless you have go-go-gadget arms). This afternoon I used it to carry him around the house as he was fighting sleep but refused to sit or lay down anywhere.

I’m really hoping this phase is short lived and he returns to his normal sunny self soon!

Leave a Reply

