Week 26 – cluster feeding

Just when you think it’s safe to go out, along comes a cluster feeding day!

I’d heard that there was another growth spurt around the six months mark but hadn’t really thought about the implications for us.

Then this afternoon, fortunately after we’d arrived at our destination, Reindeer had a long feed. Followed half at hour later by another long feed. Followed twenty minutes after that by yet another long feed. Each time behaving as though he hadn’t been fed for a week!

After this was a nap, bath time and then bed.

His bedtime feed was epic.

After twenty minutes (he normally feeds for five) he unlatched and I thought he was done. But no. He suddenly started rooting again, got my finger and gave me a look which clearly contained the question ‘where’s the milk gone?’. We switched over and he fed for several more minutes before being overcome with sleepiness.

I’ve geared up for a busy night with a big healthy dinner and lots of water.

My husband has helpfully pointed out that when this is over I’ll have two basketballs where my chest used to be.

On the plus side, I’ve just realised that I’ve managed to exclusively breastfeed Reindeer for six months! I didn’t set out to do this; in my diary entry when I was admitted to hospital I express extreme scepticism about breastfeeding, clearly expecting to bottle feed.

Looking back now I’m glad I stuck with it, even though there was an awful 36 hours when he was two weeks old and it felt like he had a mouth full of broken glass every time he fed. I feel like I’ve achieved something and, if the research and WHO are to be believed, I’ve given him the best gift possible.

2 thoughts on “Week 26 – cluster feeding

Leave a Reply

